Justice Jasti Chelameswar, former SC Judge to address a National Webinar on Celebrating Democracy

Hyderabad, September 16, 2022…Justice Jasti Chelameswar, former SC Judge to address a National Webinar on Celebrating Democracy. It will be held on 18th September, Sunday. It will be organised on the occasion of International Day of Democracy & 75th Anniversary of Indian Independence.  It is to be organised by S. Jaipal Reddy Memorial Foundation.

Prof (Dr.) C. Raj Kumar, Vice Chancellor, O.P. Jindal Global, an Institution of Eminence Deemed to be University  and Sriram Karri, Resident Editor, Deccan Chronicle & Author will be guests of honour.

The will be live on YouTube channel of S. Jaipal Reddy Memorial Foundation.

 Jaipal Reddy is widely regarded for his secular and democratic values.  He has been an ardent proponent of Democracy and Representative Form of Government.  His thoughts and ideas were penned in his book “Ten Ideologies: The Great Asymmetry between Agrarianism and Industrialism”.  Democracy is included in it as a separate chapter.

Democracy is a system of government where power is held by citizens. They can impact important decisions, either directly or through the people they elect. Democracy is based on freedom and equality between all people. And Jaipal Reddy dedicated his life for upholding the democratic values in Indian Political System.

A politician par excellence, Sri Reddy was the Member of Parliament seven times and Union Cabinet Minister thrice. He had a political career spanning over 50 years. He was a brilliant parliamentarian known for his oratorical skills and political acumen. His speeches were packed with knowledge, information, criticism and wit. He passed away on July 28th in 2019 at the age of 77 years, who despite of his physical disability carried on his journey with grit, determination and stood as inspiration to many.

Reddy was an elected representative for nearly 45 years and for his contribution to the discussions in Parliament earned him, “The Outstanding Parliamentarian Award, 1998”.