NICE-23 North East Zone Finals

24th June, 2023 , GUWAHATI: The North East Zonal finals of the 2nd edition of the National Inter-college Crossword Expedition (NICE) were held at NERIM Group of Institutions in Guwahati on June 23, 2023. The event witnessed resounding success, attracting esteemed dignitaries and showcasing the talent and intellect of college students from the region.

Prof. (Dr.) Sangeeta Tripathi, Director of NERIM Group of Institutions; Shri Prasanta Sagar Changmai IPS, Inspector General of Police (Border), Srimantapur, Government of Assam; and Shri Girish Bhasin, Senior Accounts Officer of All India Council for Technical Education, graced the occasion and added significance to the North East Zone finals of NICE-23.

NICE was introduced last year as part of the endeavour to fulfil the objectives outlined in the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020, which emphasises fostering a vibrant campus life and integrating a multi-disciplinary approach to education. NICE 2023 is being organised nationwide by AICTE, in collaboration with the National Institute of Industrial Engineering (NITIE), Mumbai, and Extra-C, a civil society initiative promoting a holistic educational environment.

Prof. Hemant Rajkonwar delivered the welcome address, expressing gratitude to AICTE and EXTRA-C for providing NERIM with the opportunity to host the event. Shri Girish Bhasin expressed his delight at the growing participation in the contest. Dr. Sangeeta Tripathi delivered the keynote address, highlighting the significance of crosswords as an innovative tool to train young minds. Shri Prasanta Sagar Changmai IPS, Chief Guest for the event, commended Extra-C’s efforts in promoting co-curricular activities and acknowledged the platform provided by the G20 to showcase important events such as NICE. He emphasised the benefits of crosswords in enhancing critical thinking, logical reasoning, and decision-making abilities.

The winners of the North East Zone finals of NICE-23 were announced as follows:

1st Position: Jaynil Saha, Maharaja Bir Bikram College, West Tripura
2nd Position: Debjit Debnath and Uday Debnath, Netaji Subash Mahavidyalaya, Gomati (Tripura)
3rd Position: Diptanu Paul, Bir Bikram Memorial College, West Tripura

Prof. Arunav Barua, Prof. Gautam Chakrabarty, Prof. Saif Rasul Khan, and several senior faculty members of NERIM Group of Institutions were present at the event to encourage the participants and award prizes to the winners. Priyankesh Sharma, Syed Ishan Zakiy and Sanyukta Chakraborty were among the student volunteers who invaluably contributed to the success of the competition. Prof. Hemant Rajkonwar extended his appreciation during the vote of thanks, acknowledging the crucial roles played by AICTE, EXTRA-C, and all the associates in ensuring the success of the event. The entire event was moderated by renowned cross-master Ochintya Sharma.

The National Inter-college Crossword Expedition (NICE-23) continues to foster intellectual engagement, collaboration, and critical thinking skills among college students. The event serves as a testament to the commitment of educational institutions and organisations in promoting a comprehensive learning environment.