India International Trade Fair: Kerala Pavilion wins Gold

New Delhi, November 28, 2022: The 41st India International Trade Fair, being held at Pragati Maidan in New Delhi, came to a close today with the Kerala Pavilion winning the gold medal in the state and union territory category. It was the first, full-fledged, 14-day-long trade fair after the Covid restrictions were fully lifted.

The concept and design of the Kerala Pavilion was fully in line with the theme of the trade fair, ‘Vocal for Local and Local to Global’, in every sense.

The pavilion was designed in Kerala’s unique architectural style. This year, Kerala was one of the focus states along with Uttar Pradesh. The pavilion, at Hall 5 on the first floor, had about 42 stalls displaying agricultural, handloom, ayurvedic, herbal, spices, and textile products. Moreover, there were 8 artists who performed live in the pavilion. Apart from the inner stalls, there were other stalls in the corridors, modelled after the Kozhikode Mithayi (sweets) Street.

The Kerala Pavilion was inaugurated by State Finance Minister K.N. Balagopal. Kerala Forest and Wildlife Conservation Minister A.K. Saseendran, Union Minister of State for Electronic, IT, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Andhra Pradesh Finance Minister Buganna Rajendranath, Odisha Forest and Panchayat Minister Pradip Kumar Amat, Lok Sabha Member Thomas Chazhikkadan, Rajya Sabha Member A.A. Rahim, Supreme Court Judge C.T. Ravikumar, High Court Judge Basant Balaji, Kerala Film Academy Vice Chairman Prem Kumar, Tamil Nadu Information & PRD Director V. P. Jayaseelan, Kerala Information & PRD Director H. Dinesan, Coir Development Director A. Shibu, Culture Department Director Muhammad Riaz, Industries & Commerce Director S. Harikishore, Fisheries Director Dr. Adeela Abdullah, Land Revenue Joint Commissioner Arjun Pandian, Oushadhi Chairperson Shobhana George, and renowned writer C. Radhakrishnan were among the prominent visitors during the 14-day long trade fair.

For Kerala, the additional director of the information and public relations department Abdul Rasheed, deputy director S.R. Praveen, pavilion designer artist C B. Jinen, Delhi information officer of public relations department Sini K. Thomas, Information officer A.C. Abhilash received the award from India Trade Promotion Organisation Chairman & Managing Director Pradeep Singh Kharola.